Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in menu_set_active_trail() (line 2405 of /home/hulijedw/public_html/includes/

Henrik Stenson Winner of Players Championship At Sawgrass Golf Course

Armen Hareyan's picture

Henrik Stenson from Sweden roared from deep in the pack Sunday to post a stellar 66 and nail down a no-doubt victory at TPC Sawgrass golf course. The four-shot triumph is the biggest of the powerful Henrik Stenson's career.

The Henrik Stenson win at the Sawgrass golf course is his first in his last 27 starts on the PGA TOUR and second overall. His first TOUR win came in 2007 at the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship.

Tiger woods finishes five under par but only finished in the top ten. Hendrick Stenson wins the players tournament. Englishmen Ian Poulter couldn’t quite pull off victory in the Players Championship
at Sawgrass golf course — that honor went to Swede Henrik Stenson — and won’t be doing so at Europe’s equivalent at Wentworth next week.

Henrik Stenson Victory Notes from today's Sawgrass Golf Course

Henrik Stenson put on quite a show off the tee this weekend. Stenson found the short grass on his drives on 26 out of a possible 28 times. Since 1992, the only PLAYERS Champion to equal or better this mark was Davis Love III in 1992, who also found 26 out of 28 fairways on the weekend.

The last champion on the PGA TOUR to find as many fairways off the tee on the weekend was Kenny Perry at the 2008 the Memorial Tournament presented by Morgan Stanley. Perry also played the final two rounds missing only two fairways, going 26 out of 28. ...

Stenson did not record a single bogey over his last 19 holes of play during his victory at The PLAYERS Championship this week. He's the third PLAYERS champion since 1983 to play his last 19 holes bogey-free. Stenson joins Davis Love III in 2003 and Fred Couples in 1996.

Stenson is the first champion in a PGA TOUR event this season to play his final 19 holes bogey free. Last season, three champions went bogey free over their final 19 holes while in 2007, four winners pulled off the feat.

Henrik Stenson avoided the water on the 17th, and then two-putted for par. He goes to the 18th comfortably embracing a four-shot lead.The Swede is on his way to becoming just the third European to win THE PLAYERS (Scotland's Sandy Lyle in 1986; Spain's Sergio Garcia in 2008).

This is Stenson's first PGA TOUR win since he claimed the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship in 2007.

Add new comment