American Music Awards voting open, Adele's 4 nominations

Anissa Ford's picture

The American Music Awards airs live on ABC Sunday November 20 at 8 p.m.

The nominees are in and tickets for the American Music Awards are on sale now at Ticketmaster. Nicki Minaj and Pitbull will host the AMA ceremony. Pitbull and Katy Perry are confirmed to perform. Pitbull and Nikki Minaj unveiled the list of nominees yesterday morning at the J.W. Marriot in Los Angeles.

The major difference between the American Music Awards and the Grammy Awards is that the fans vote for their favorite musician. Grammy winners are nominated by members of the music entertainment industry.


Adele leads this year with four nominations. Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, Lil Wayne, Rihanna, and The Band Perry follow Adele with three nominations each. Beyonce, who's public relations team is thwarting fake pregnancy rumors, garnered two nominations along with Bruno Mars, Chris Brown, Jason Aldean, Kanye West, LMFAO, Nicki Minaj and Pitbull.

Katy Perry, Adele, Lady Gaga, Lil Wayne and Taylor Swift are all nominated for American Music Awards' Artist of the Year. Adele canceled her US tour because of vocal cord hemorrhaging. .

For the fifth year, winners will be determined by online voting. Fans can vote at the Coca-Cola AMA voting website,, as well as Artists will be honored in the categories of Pop/Rock, Country, Rap/Hip-Hop, Soul/R&B, Alternative, Adult Contemporary, Latin, and Contemporary Inspirational. Fans can go to the official homepage of the "2011 American Music Awards,", to find performer and presenter announcements, artist information, and more.

Orly Adelson, executive producer of the show and Larry Klein, AMA producer jointly stated, "The highly talented group that makes up this year's 2011 AMA nominees have dominated the charts, airwaves and pop culture all year long. We are excited to congratulate and celebrate all of the artists on American music's biggest night."

In addition, music fans will be able to vote for the Sprint New Artist of the Year Award. For the first round of voting beginning Tuesday, October 11 through Friday, October 21 at 9:00 p.m., ET, fans will be able to determine who will make up the final award nominees by voting via text message from the list of artists available online at or using their mobile phones at Music fans will be able to vote an unlimited number of times on all available platforms for the Sprint New Artist of the Year Award. All fans can send a text message by using 22288 and the number corresponding to their favorite artist. In addition, votes can also be cast via the internet at Standard messaging and data rates will apply. The top four artists with the highest votes from the first round of voting will be the final award nominees of the Sprint New Artist of the Year Award. Voting for the award winner will begin October 24 and conclude during the American Music Awards on November 20 at 9:00 p.m., ET.

American Music Awards® nominees are selected from both BigChampagne's Ultimate Chart and Mediabase. The Ultimate Chart is a ranked list of the most popular artists and songs based on a weighted combination of music sales, radio and TV broadcast, internet streaming and video viewing, and incorporating additional online metrics, including activity on social networks. Mediabase monitors more than 1,800 radio stations in 180 U.S. and Canadian markets, 24 hours-a-day, seven-days-a-week and provides vital airplay and programming information to more than 1,700 affiliate radio stations and every major broadcast group. Winners are chosen by public vote online.

Add new comment