Tony Stewart Daytona Nationwide winner, Danica Patrick lap down

Mechele R. Dillard's picture

NASCAR driver Tony Stewart became the winner by a hair, while Dale Jr. can't seem to get his pit right at Daytona International Speedway.

NASCAR driver Tony Stewart, helped by a push from Landon Cassill, zoomed past Clint Bowyer to win the Drive4COPD 300. The win was Stewart’s fourth consecutive Nationwide Series win at Daytona International Speedway.

Smoke had only a fraction of a second to spare, with 0.007 seconds between his car and the second-place Bowyer. Cassill finished third while Dale Earnhardt Jr. crossed the line in fourth. Earnhardt Jr. had pushed Bowyer for six laps after a restart on lap 115.

Earnhardt Jr. also had trouble in the pits, as he drove past his pit stall under caution on lap 17. Apparently, he was heading for his Sprint car number-88 instead of his Nationwide pit number 5. His crew held out an 88 pit sign for him on the following stop.

Driver Danica Patrick finished 14th and one lap down, giving Patrick her best finish yet in 14 Nationwide starts so far.

2010 Nationwide Series champion Brad Keselowski had a 102-race streak without a DNF going before today, but it came to an end after a restart on lap 104. After being knocked into the infield grass by drafting partner Cassill, Keselowski turned back across the track and sandwiched Josh Wise against the outside wall, then Keselowski followed suit, and bounced off the wall as well.

Results of the Nationwide Drive4COPD 300 were as follows:

1.Tony Stewart
2.Clint Bowyer
3.Landon Cassill
4.Dale Earnhardt Jr.
5.Reed Sorenson
6.Jason Leffler
7.Kyle Busch
8.Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
9.Michael Waltrip
10.Trevor Bayne
11.Kasey Kahne
12.Joey Logano
13.Mike Bliss
14.Danica Patrick
15.Joe Nemechek
16.Jeremy Clements
17.Bobby Santos
18.Todd Bodine
19.Aric Almirola
20.Steve Wallace
21.David Starr
22.Shelby Howard
23.Donnie Neuenberger
24.Patrick Sheltra
25.Derrick Cope
26.Morgan Shepherd
27.Justin Allgaier
28.Kenny Wallace
29.Carl Edwards
30.Brad Keselowski
31.Josh Wise
32.Robert Richardson Jr.
33.Eric McClure
34.Brian Scott
35.Scott Wimmer
36.Sam Hornish Jr.
37.Mike Wallace
38.Elliot Sadler
39.Michael Annett
40.Jeff Green
41.Kevin Lepage
42.J.R. Fitzpatrick
43.Kelly Bires

Add new comment