Sarasota Opera Plays Cavalleria Rusticana

Ruzan Haruriunyan's picture

Sarasota Opera will perform "Cavalleria rusticana/Pagliacci" in Italian with English surtitles.

Sarasota Opera will perform "Cavalleria rusticana/Pagliacci" in Italian with English surtitles.

Sarasota Opera's Winter Opera Festival opens with this perennial double bill. The warm sun of Sicily on an Easter Sunday ignites heated passions in Cavalleria rusticana while the betrayed clown of Pagliacci must go on with the show leading to a tragic end. The dramatic power and music of both operas made them instant successes and favorites of opera-lovers for over a century.

Gala Opening Night

Always anticipated as a highlight of the year, the Sarasota Opera Opening Gala will follow the performance of Cavalleria rusticana and Pagliacci. Opera-lovers join for dining and dancing in celebration of the start of another opera season.

Performance schedule is as follows:

* Saturday, February 6 at 5 pm
* Tuesday, February 9 at 8 pm
* Sunday, February 14 at 1:30 pm
* Wednesday, February 17 at 8 pm
* Thursday, February 25 at 8 pm
* Sunday, February 28 at 1:30 pm
* Friday, March 5 at 8 pm
* Friday, March 12 at 8 pm
* Friday, March 19 at 8 pm
* Sunday, March 21 at 8 pm

Production team includes Conductor : Victor DeRenzi, Stage Director : Stephanie Sundine, Set Designer : David P. Gordon, Costume Designer : Howard Tsvi Kaplan, Lighting Designer : Ken Yunker, Chorus Master : Roger L. Bingaman.

Cast includes Santuzza (Cavalleria rusticana) : Kara Shay Thomson, Turiddu (Cavalleria rusticana)/Canio (Pagliacci) : Gustavo Lopez Manzitti, Alfio (Cavalleria rusticana)/Tonio (Pagliacci) : Michael Corvino, Nedda (Pagliacci) : Aundie Marie Moore, soprana -- www.sarasotaopera.org

Add new comment